Music, Poetry

Where’s The Old California

20140820-204550.jpg

Where’s the old California, hippies making peace signs with their hands
Where’s the old Oklahoma, a good old southern country bands
Where’s the one I called my love-r – – – The one I left for an-other
When we were young and time was wrong
He’s been waiting for me ever since I went free
To come back home where I belong

Where’s the old-time piano, a player singing in a dive
Where are all the people dancing for no other reason
Then to know that they’re alive
Where’s the one I called my love-r – – – The one I left for an-other
When we were young and time was wrong
He’s been waiting for me since I went free
To come back home where I belong

Where’s our old picnic table, carving, singing, drinking beer
Where’s that little surfer wagon that would take us far and near
Where’s the one I called my love-r
The one who kissed me like no other
When we were young and time was wrong
He’s been waiting for me since I went free
To bring me home where I belong

~Sarah Davenport 2014

Standard

Leave a Reply

