Music, Poetry

Don’t Go Annie

20140806-141601.jpg

My therapist told me, long time ago
Tradition is farse ain’t no one way to go
I didn’t believe her, how could it be true
What about a little house with kids one or two

I checked into a hotel I was there to stay
But They kicked me out when they saw my ashtray
I checked my pockets just broken cigarettes
I’m walking away, hiding all my regrets

Hold on Annie, going to give you a ride
Might be rocky, or could be a slip n’ slide
It really don’t matter I’ve got nothing to hide
My insides mirror the continental divide

My therapist told me, long time ago
Tradition is farse ain’t no one way to grow
I thought she was crazy, how could life be ok
I’m a rotten wonton, I’m spoiled brûlée
And once people figure they can crack a shell
Another piece of me dies and it’s waiting in hell

Don’t go Annie , let me tell you the rest
It’s ok if I fail I’ve never been put to the test
But this isn’t my home, and if I stay
It’ll be like wanting to piss stuck in a crowded parquet

My therapist told me a long time ago
Tradition is farce just allow it to go
These conditions all bullshit
life is ill
quid pro quo
Throw me like a paper plane
Watch me land in the snow
I’ll melt away fast
Let tears soak me through
But nothing can last
That’s the only thing true
We all disappear
Not much one can do
Say goodbye my dear Annie
And adieu to you too

~Sarah Davenport 2014

Standard

Leave a Reply

