Music, Poetry

Jesus is Gone

20140430-013121.jpg

Jesus had a girlfriend and her name was Etta Lee.

They fornicated, and he said one made it,

and that’s how she had me.

I’m so much blessed that it’s kinda messed,

with the who I’m sposta be.

And he’s gone, yes he’s gone, yes he’s gone.

You’d think him bein Jesus, woulda made him stick around.

But then he died and came alive and left without a sound.

He went back up to heaven, where his daddy rules the land.

I guess it’s easy livin but I’ll never understand.

How he justified floating away,

leaving me stuck down here to stay.

And he’s gone, yes he’s gone, yes he’s gone.

But I grew up with a daddy, and my daddy was the man,

might have been a booze hound, but he did the best one can.

He held me when I’s cryin, because Jesus went away.

And that’s what helped me realize,

I had a daddy all the way.

He didn’t jump up on a cloud, and leave me by my lone.

He stayed beside me thick and thin, and he deserves the throne.

You’d think that bein just a man, is like a dog without a bone.

Yes he was strong, he was strong, he was strong.

Jesus’ said he was comin back, gonna bring us up or down,

it’s caused a lot of fights and fear among the people in this town.

But as far as I can see it, I’d rather he stay gone,

cause I ain’t goin back to holdin tears and hangin on.

My daddy might not be a saint, but he’s more than god to me.

I’ll love him, everyday I live, he’s all the world I need.

He’ll hold my hand even when he’s gone,

through my life of memories.

Yes, he’ll live on, he’ll live on, he’ll live on.

~s.davenport 4/30/2014

Standard

2 thoughts on “Jesus is Gone

Leave a Reply

