About Davs, Art, Features

Davs

4

society61

Featuring my own work Davs Art.

2

society61

Tell us a bit about yourself:

Well, this is harder then I thought. I decided why not? I’m featuring a variety of artists and crafters why not do a feature on myself? And now I have to answer my own questions. Here we go. I’m Sarah, but my pen name is Davs. I’m a self taught artist. When I’m not taking care of my two boys ages 4 and 11, I’m painting, blogging, or fiddling around with my new iPhonography obsession. I’m engaged to a wonderful guy who makes lodge pole furniture in the summer and works with children with special needs in a school for the rest of the year.

society61

4
society61
When did you know that art was your thing?

I guess I always knew. I loved to draw and craft ever since I can remember. My dad is a professional window painter and artist and I used to go along with him and help paint windows when I was very little. Even as a teenager I would carry a drawing book and pencils in a backpack around with me everywhere and doodle when I could.

society614
society61
Do you have a favorite medium?
I thought I did, for years oil paints were my go to, and they’re still my favorite medium. But I have been experimenting with iPhonography: taking a photo and running it through a variety of apps on my iPad to come out with something artistic. It’s so much less mess then painting, which I really appreciate. But I think I’ll go back and forth.
society61

4
society61

What’s your favorite part of the art making process?

When I get lost in my work. It’s like going to paradise without leaving your home. At first it’s torture, and I struggle a lot with blank canvas, or now that I’m working with an iPad, figuring out what direction I want to go. But there comes a point when you dive in and it’s like being carried away to another planet for a while.
society61

oval1
society61

What inspires you to create?

The feeling of escape. Not to say I don’t love my life, but sometimes I just need a break. Making art puts me in a good mood.

society614
society61

What’s the most rewarding thing about sharing your art with the world?

It was scary at first, putting my stuff out there. But I found that I have really supportive friends and family that encouraged me to keep going. Eventually when I started making sales to people I didn’t know, it was exhilarating (still is) to know that someone somewhere out there connects with my work in some way. My art is hanging in homes all around the world, Australia, the UK, Finland, Canada and here in the US. I get a thrill thinking that out of all the artwork out there someone chose something of mine to include in their lives, it’s a big deal to me and it makes me smile.

society61

4society61

Where can we find your work?

society61

www.Davs.Etsy.com

society61

Society6.com/Davs

society61

Where can we find you?

society61
@Davenportant on Twitter

society61

Davs Art on Facebook

Standard

2 thoughts on “Davs

  1. When I started to do ATC’s I found that I can relate to your “feeling of escape” I think that is why I kept on doing them I currently have only 3 made but I always anticipate my next one… I’d say its like a Stay-cation LOL 🙂 Thank you for your encouraging me to “Keep Making Them” It is something I enjoy and had wanted to share the thrill and experience with my husband; but he just isn’t into it as much as I had hoped. Was getting me down and considering putting them down and trying something else. Thanx again

    • Hi Angella! Glad to hear from you here, I remember the ATC you posted yesterday… Yesterday, right? Yeah sometimes you’ve got to do it for yourself and no one else. Stay-cation, that’s hilarious! Hopefully your hubby will join board once he realizes what good it does you to have that creative outlet. Best wishes! xo

Leave a Reply

