Food, Recipes

Green Zebra Tomatos

society61

5society61

7society61

A friend and coworker of my fiance sent him home with a gem of a gift: Green Zebra Tomatoes grown from her garden. I’d never seen them before, except for on the internet. I am by no means a professional food taster, so my description of their flavor is for the layman. First off, they are delicious. I thought they tasted like a mixture between cucumber and tomato with a little citrus zest. I made a sandwich with my cut and thought the tomatoes went perfectly well with onion, a bit of mild green hotsauce, mayonnaise and deli sliced turkey. Ideally if we had enough of these tomatoes I think they’d make for a great salsa or hot sauce.

I’m going to try and talk my fiance into growing these tomatoes next summer. I did a little research on how people are cooking them and found some really scrumptious looking recipes:

Tangy Green Zebra Gazpacho

Green Tomato Chutney

Zucchini and Green Zebra Tomato Lasagne with Basil Pistachio Pesto

Fried Green Zebra Tomatoes

Fresh Pico de Gallo Green Zebra Salsa

society61

If you try any of these recipes out, or have a recipe of your own please let me know. I am in love.

Standard

Leave a Reply

