Books

Saving The World With Books

 

 Image 

 Too right! I have some books I’ve felt this way about. Of course, I haven’t read every book in the universe so I’m sure I’m missing some but here’s a few that I feel could possibly save the world.

Image

Still Alice by Lisa Genova. You’ll never look at Alzheimer’s the same way again.

Image

Escape from Camp 14: One Man’s Remarkable Odyssey from North Korea to Freedom in the West by Blaine Harden. I feel uncomfortable pairing this book with fiction, maybe it deserves a post of it’s own. But it definitely falls under the category of books that could save the world.

Image

If you ever wanted a real glimpse into what it’s like to have PTSD The Yellow Birds by Kevin Powers is it. It’s brutal, intense, honest and beautifully written.

book

Look Me in the Eye by John Elder Robison. As a parent of a child with autsim this book gave me invaluable insight into some of what my child is going through. It didn’t quite give me the chills, but I think it’s important to put yourself in someone else’s shoes, and Robison does that for us very well.

Roots by Alex Haley. This book captivated me. A horrifying look into American slavery. Talk about putting yourself into someone else’s shoes, this book walks you through what it would’ve been like from the beginning to the end. I think there’s some controversy about Alex Haley and possible plagiarism, which killed me after I learned about it. But it’s still an important book.

book

Things Fall Apart by Chinua Achebe. If you want to get mad about religion and how it’s changed and broken traditions and ways of life and destroyed whole communities and put people against each other, this is the book that will do it. Another important read.

Teddy is a must read short story in this collection by J.D. Salinger. Every time I read it I feel like a light bulb explodes in my head all over again. Gives me the chills every time.

So that’s about it, there are a few others, Angela’s Ashes, Teacher Man, and ‘Tis by Frank McCourt and The Tortilla Curtain T.C. Boyle come to mind. But it’s been so long since I’ve read them that I couldn’t quite sum up the reason why they could be world saving.

Are you with me? Do you know what I’m talking about? John Green does. Have you read a book that could save the world?

Standard

2 thoughts on “Saving The World With Books

  1. Thanks for sharing my book review of Roots. I love that you have categorized it as a “Book that Could Save the World.” Spot on! Your other book choices are fantastic too. I’ve read many of them, including Still Alice, several years ago, and still think about it often.

Leave a Reply

