Art, Features

Nikki Galapon

h4

Featuring the art of Nikki Galapon

1

Tell us About yourself.

(b. 1969) Originally from Northern NJ and now residing in Richmond VA. I always had an interest in art and wanted to attend art school after high school, but my parents “re-directed” me into Architecture… something more likely to earn a living, I guess was the logic there… I don’t know. I earned a Masters of Architecture from SCAD in 1994 and worked in various offices until 2007, when I abruptly decided to quit my job to be home with my two babies. I started taking art classes at night and could not imagine going back to work drafting lines and dimensions on a computer. I told my art teacher that I wanted to be a ‘real artist’ and he said, “Well, then go paint.” And that’s just what I’ve done. When I opened an online shop and had my first sale I realized that I had to make this work. When I first started out I was filled with fear and doubt and the critical voices of others telling me that it was all a pipe dream. Every day I’m a little more sure that this is exactly what I’m supposed to be doing, after all… I’m 44 years old and I’m not going to be around forever, so let’s just get on with it!

1

Give us an idea of the art making process for you.

Although I was not fond of Architecture as a profession, I still loved the process of design. I loved being given a site and a certain set of parameters and having to solve a problem within them. I find that I treat a lot of my artwork the same way. I will start with a structure, like the grain of the wood panel or the notes on a sheet of music, or some random shapes that I expressively paint on a canvas. Then I take what I’ve been given and make it work.

1

Do you have a favorite medium?

I cannot really think of any medium that I don’t like, but I do have some favorites: oil paint, encaustic, paint markers, pen, charcoal, acrylics, watercolor, gouache, collage, etc… I like to have it all handy for whatever mood I’m in.

1

What inspires you?
Here is a quote that I read a couple of months ago that really strikes a chord with me and just about sums up my view of art and life:

“Go all the way with it. Do not back off. For once, go all the goddamn way with what matters.” -Ernest Hemingway

1

Where can we find you?

nikkigalapon.com

Nikki Galapon on Etsy

Nikki Galapon on Facebook

Contact Nikki Galapon at nikki@nikkigalapon.com

Thank you Nikki, love your work!

Standard

2 thoughts on “Nikki Galapon

Leave a Reply

