Art, Features

Jennifer Davis Art

Image

Featuring Jennifer Davis Art

Image

Tell us a little bit about yourself.

I am 38 years old and have lived my entire life in Minnesota. I currently live in Minneapolis with my partner of 18 years, Brad, and our cat of 18 years, Nudge.
I paint full-time from a small studio in our house.

Image

When did you know that art was your thing?

I didn’t have any real interest in art until college. I had finished all of my general course requirements at the UofMN and still had not figured out what I wanted to “be” when I grew up. I took a drawing class on a whim with a friend of mine and fell in love. After that I changed my major to Art and took all different kinds of art classes. I graduated with a Bachelor of Fine Arts degree in 1998 and after a few “day jobs “ I started doing art full time in 2003.

Image

Do you have a favorite medium?

My favorite medium is acrylic paint. I am impatient and I work very fast so the quick drying time is ideal for me. I also adore my pink mechanical pencils for fine detail work.

Image

What’s your favorite part of the art making process?

There is a high for me when something I have been working on finally feels done in a way that really resonates. How sad that the moment occurs just when the thing is DONE!? That fleeting feeling creates a motivation to try again and again.

Image

What inspires you to create?

I’m not exactly sure. Inspiration is really mysterious to me. There are certain things that inspire me- animals, seeing beautiful color combinations, vintage things, etc. – but I think I would be inspired to create even if I was locked in a dark room. It might be something internal that I can’t understand. That said, I try to keep my eyes peeled for inspiration all the time.

Image

What’s the most rewarding thing about sharing your art with the world?

For me making art is a very solitary and personal pursuit. I spend most of my time alone and talking to my cat. When I put it out there in the world and people respond to me it makes me feel more connected. Art is my favorite way of communicating. Ha!

Image

Where can we find your work?

My next big show is at The Devos Museum of Art at Northern Michigan University. (8/19-9/29/13) I will be showing 20 paintings and 20 new hand-painted shooting targets.
Online catalog of Jennifer’s exhibition HERE

My website jenniferdavisart.com

jenniferdavis on Etsy

jenniferdavisart on Tumblr

Jennifer Davis on Flickr

Jennifer Davis at The Wallery

MN Artists Online

Where can we find you?

Jennifer Davis on Pinterest

jenniferdavisart.blogspot

Jennifer Davis on Facebook

jenniferdavisart on Instagram

Thank you Jennifer, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE your style. Long time admirer. Thank you for letting me feature you!

Standard

Leave a Reply

